There are three Services in the Central Secretariat, which provide support and continuity of the governmental system in the Central Government Secretariat.
     1. Central Secretariat Service (CSS)
     2. Central Secretariat Stenographers Service(CSSS)
     3. Central Secretariat Clerical Service (CSCS)
The sanctioned strength of the three services functioning in the Central Secretariat is as depicted below :
Service GradeSanctioned StrengthTotal
CSS Senior Selection Grade(Director)600 11467
Selection Grade(DS)
CSSS Principal Staff Officer1426981
Senior PPS
Stenographer Grade-‘C’(PA) 2637
Stenographer Grade-‘D'1326
CSCSUpper Division Clerk(UDC) 36815933
Lower Division Clerk(LDC) 2252
Total  23860
The Government has decided that all the vacant posts of LDC Grade (to the tune of 85% vacant posts in every select list year) be abolished discontinuing the Direct Recruitment to the post of Lower Division Clerk. The mode of recruitment for the post of Lower Division Clerk would be 70% by promotion of Group ‘D’ staff and 30% through Limited Departmental Competitive Examination (for Group ‘D’ Staff) (vide DOPT’s Order No.9/2/2003-CS.I dated 20.04.2005).